Dungeons & Dragons (commonly abbreviated as D&D is a fantasy tabletop role-playing game (RPG) originally designed by Gary Gygax and Dave Arneson.

It was first published in 1974 by Tactical Studies Rules, Inc.
D&D departs from traditional wargaming by allowing each player to create their own character to play instead of a military formation.

These characters embark upon imaginary adventures within a fantasy setting. A Dungeon Master (DM) serves as the game’s referee and storyteller, while maintaining the setting in which the adventures occur, and playing the role of the inhabitants of the game world.

The characters form a party and they interact with the setting’s inhabitants and each other.

Together they solve dilemmas, engage in battles, explore, and gather treasure and knowledge.

In the process, the characters earn experience points (XP) in order to rise in levels, and become increasingly powerful over a series of separate gaming sessions.

Your first step in playing an adventurer in the Dungeons & Dragons game is to create a character of your own, a combination of game statistics, roleplaying hooks, and your imagination.

You choose a race (such as human or elf) and a class (such as fighter or wizard).You also invent the personality, appearance, and backstory of the character.

How do you now Create your Character.

Ads: Do you need a site like this? You want to start a blog or need any kind of website? Chat a professional website designer up today and get a discount on every job you want to do. Chat on WhatsApp

Follow this Steps

1. Choose a Race
Every character belongs to a race, one of the many humanoid species in D&D. The most common player character races are dwarves, elves, halflings, and humans.

Your character’s race grants particular racial traits, such as special senses.

2. Choose a Class
Every adventurer is a member of a character class. Class broadly describes a character’s vocation, special talents, and the tactics the character is most likely to employ when exploring a dungeon, fighting monsters, or engaging in a tense negotiation. Your character receives many benefits from your choice of class.

3. Determine Ability Scores
Much of what your character does relies on six abilities: Strength, measuring physical power, Dexterity, measuring agility, Constitution, measuring endurance, Intelligence, measuring reasoning and memory, Wisdom, measuring perception and insight, and Charisma, measuring force of personality.

4. Describe Your Character
Once you know the basic game aspects of your character, it’s time to flesh out a backstory and a personality. Your character also needs a name. Spend a few minutes thinking about what the character’s behavior and looks. You will also need to choose a Background for your character.

5. Choose Equipment
Your class and background determine your character’s starting equipment. This includes your character’s armor, used to determine your Armor Class, as well as the weapons that you wield that determine your attack roll values. Additional adventuring gear is also available through starting equipment.

Ads: How to create a PayPal account that send and receive funds in Nigeria… Read more

6. Come Together
D&D characters don’t work alone. Each character plays a role within a party, a group of adventurers working together for a common purpose. Talk to your fellow players and your DM to decide whether your characters know one another, how they met, and what sorts of quests the group might undertake.

Gaining Levels
As characters go on adventures, each character gains experience, represented by experience points. A character who reaches a specified experience point total advances in capability. This advancement is called gaining a level.

These Are Other key Character Mechanics

• Hit Points and Hit Dice
Your character’s hit points define how tough your character is in combat and other dangerous situations. Your hit points are determined by your Hit Dice (short for Hit Point Dice). After you rest, you can spend Hit Dice to regain hit points.

Proficiency Bonus
The table that appears in your class description shows your proficiency bonus, which is +2 for a 1st-level character and gets better as you gain levels. The rules tell you when the bonus applies, most commonly in features or skills where you have proficiency.

Ads: How to gain more followers on Instagram… Read more

Your Armor Class (AC) This represents how well your character avoids being wounded in battle. Things that contribute to your AC include the armor you wear, the shield you carry, and your Dexterity modifier. Without armor or a shield, your character’s AC equals 10 + his or her Dexterity modifier.

What’s now stopping you from enjoying your Game.

Fire On!

Ads: Advertise With Us… Read more


Let’s send our tutorials and posts directly to your email inbox, you will only hear from us once in a week. Drop your email below